Romantic Movie Lines

Doing research in the internet about movie lines that are really sweet. Instead of getting bitter that I’m alone on Valentine’s due to the MIA moment of my date, I’d rather find happiness on my own to prevent going gaga over being alone. 

“You know what’s wrong with you, Miss Whoever-you-are? You’re chicken, you’ve got no guts. You’re afraid to stick out your chin and say, ‘Okay, life’s a fact, people do fall in love, people do belong to each other, because that’s the only chance anybody’s got for real happiness.'” -Paul Varjak (George Peppard) to Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) in Breakfast at Tiffany’s

What’s so special about Breakfast at Tiffany’s anyways? I heard its a great film and been featured in some recent movies like Pitch Perfect. But I couldn’t like it on my own. It’s too old. I don’t get enticed at all. 

“It seems right now that all I’ve ever done in my life is making my way here to you.” -Robert Kincaid (Clint Eastwood) to Francesca Johnson (Meryl Streep) in The Bridges of Madison County

I don’t really know this film. But if ever someone tells me this line? It’s a plus factor to considering him Mr. Right🙂

“You should be kissed, and often, and by someone who knows how.” -Rhett Butler (Clark Gable) to Scarlett O’Hara (Vivien Leigh) in Gone with the Wind

So this is where all the flirting began. I’ve been hearing good things about Gone with the Wind as well. I wonder how the film turned out to be…

“Love is too weak a word for what I feel – I luuurve you, you know, I loave you, I luff you, two F’s, yes.” -Alvy Singer (Woody Allen) to Annie Hall (Diane Keaton) in Annie Hall

Superlative kind of love — trying to put words as explanation of what it meant, what the feeling meant, and how it felt. 

“If there’s any kind of magic in this world, it must be in the attempt of understanding someone, sharing something. I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed, but…who cares, really? The answer must be in the attempt.” -Celine (Julie Delpy) to Jesse (Ethan Hawke) in Before Sunrise

Guys simply do smooth-talking. But girls fall for it… every single time. 

“I love him and I don’t care what you think. I love him for the man he wants to be and I love him for the man he almost is.” -Dorothy Boyd (Renee Zellweger) talking to her sister about Jerry Maguire (Tom Cruise) in Jerry Maguire

All-time favorite, top-chart guy movie — Jerry Maguire. Oh how I love you too.😀

“Sin from my lips? O trespass sweetly urged! Give me my sin again.” Romeo (Leonardo DiCaprio) talking to Juliet (Claire Danes) about their first kiss in Romeo and JulietI wish love stories are like the movies, overrated. But heart-felt.

Shakespeare did well on portraying a man in a dream. A delusional man, someone who doesn’t perfectly exist in the real world. Someone created in and by the mind. Someone we wish who was there for us, who would love us. But I didn’t wish for this exact same man. He’s deadly.  

“I would rather have had one breath of her hair, one kiss from her mouth, one touch of her hand, than eternity without it.” -Seth (Nicolas Cage) to Cassiel (Andre Braugher) about Dr. Maggie Rice (Meg Ryan) in City of Angels

We turn out to be people who we’re not when we’re in love. We tend to say and do things we couldn’t imagine ever existed in our system, all because we are in love. 

“Michael, I love you. I’ve loved you for nine years. I’ve just been too arrogant and scared to realize it, and, well, now, I’m just scared, so I realize this comes at a very inopportune time, but I really have this gigantic favor to ask of you. Choose me. M-marry me. Let me make you happy.” -Julianne Potter (Julia Roberts) to Michael O’Neal (Dermot Mulroney) in My Best Friend’s Wedding

I wish there was a quicker consolation for best friends who get their hearts broken for falling in love with a person they had as a friend for a long time. I wish people would know that there’s no such thing as a best friend alone for 2 people of the opposite sex. Its either they both end up falling for each other or one falls for the other. It was never as mutual as it seems. People who OFTEN spend time together ends up falling. And it’s just so sad. 

“I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.” –Frances ‘Baby’ Houseman (Jennifer Grey) to Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze) in Dirty Dancing

I wish men are as perfect as they are in the movies. So sad. It’s all for show. 

Leave a Reply

